

## भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली -110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

Dated: 30<sup>th</sup> December, 2024

## No. ECI/PN/167/2024

## PRESS NOTE

## Sub: Bye-Election to the Bihar Legislative Council by the Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs)- reg.

There is a casual vacancy in the Bihar Legislative Council by the Members of Legislative

Assembly. The details of the vacancy are as follows:

Name of Member	Nature of election	Cause of vacancy	Term up to
Dr. Sunil Kumar Singh	By MLAs	Disqualification on	28 <sup>th</sup> June, 2026
		27 <sup>th</sup> July, 2024	

2. The Commission has decided to hold a bye-election to the Bihar Legislative Council by the Members of the Legislative Assembly to fill the above-mentioned vacancy as per the following schedule:

S. No.	Events	Dates
1.	Issue of Notification	06 <sup>th</sup> January, 2025 (Monday)
2.	Last Date of making nominations	13 <sup>th</sup> January, 2025 (Monday)
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	14 <sup>th</sup> January, 2025 (Tuesday)
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	16 <sup>th</sup> January, 2025 (Thursday)
5.	Date of Poll	23 <sup>rd</sup> January, 2025 (Thursday)
6.	Hours of Poll	09:00 am- 04:00 pm
7.	Counting of Votes	23 <sup>rd</sup> January, 2025 (Thursday) at 05:00 pm
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	25 <sup>th</sup> January, 2025 (Saturday)

3. Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by ECI, available at link <u>https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAhAK6sOPBp%2FNFF0iRfXbEB1EVSLT41NNLRjYNJJP1</u> <u>KivrUxbfqkDatmHy12e%2FzVx8fLfn2ReU7TfrqYobgIg5mD1wF5S%2FZXPhQgD4VIKIMSPL0N5</u> <u>FWF1VoH8oPTnXgDsP9B2iaJCrQLo%2FnA%2Fc2NHjnhNMwmCRY5P%2FYdSwGcQIfcDqNyNa</u> <u>upRk6WhpbTHK1</u> to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process by all persons.

(PRAFULL AWASTHI) UNDER SECRETARY